Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2* Review

Film Still
Trailer
  • Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 film still

Score

With Harry and co. delivering their last big screen hurrah, LWLies gets a 15-year-old fan to sum up the final chapter.

Wandering around Waterstones at the tender and impressionable age of 10, running my fingers across the spines of all the children’s books, little did I think that the choice I would make that day would trigger an obsession that would stay with me until today: Harry Potter.

Since then, I've queued for the books and begged for the films when they were released on VHS and then DVD. Now, on July 15, it all ends.

The final film has been labeled the 'epic conclusion' and I was elated to discover that it didn’t disappoint. Picking up from where the previous film abandoned us, the action was rife from the start and the storyline maintained its gripping edge, ensuring that my anticipation for the final battle between Harry and Voldemort didn’t wither.

The Deathly Hallow: Part II is cleverly tailored; for the fanatic, the film remains loyal to the book throughout yet inserts extra tidbits for entertainment and comedic value, and for the other, less obsessed breed of viewer, the tale is riveting but easy to follow and finished cleanly; leaving no questions left unanswered or any loose ends left untied.

As someone so irrevocably attached to the wizarding world, the film was definitely a roller coaster of emotions; the epitome of all hatred for Voldemort; the teary moments when we delve into the memories of the allegedly more sinister characters; and the churning of the stomach during the scenes when pressure runs high and you pray for an escape for the world’s most beloved protagonist triple-team.

There is also a healthy harmony of plot and intrigue as Harry (Daniel Radcliffe), Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) embark on their quest to uncover the final Horcruxes, with action and adventure as the timeless war between wizarding good and evil peaks, and it certainly provides closure for anyone who has followed the story.

Whether your ticket has been booked for the final film since you read the first chapter of 'The Philosopher's Stone', or if you have a crumpled tenner forgotten at the bottom at your bag, grab your bike and go and see the final film, if not for yourself, then for JK Rowling, a literary genius and mastermind of the world so many fans long to be real.

Anticipation

Fever pitch

5

Enjoyment

Endorphin city

5

In Retrospect

Spell-bound

5
Out This Week
Still Showing
Recommended*

View 15 comments

Declan

3 years ago
Not to be mean, but this reads like a 12 year old fanboy wrote it. Is it a parody of a rubbish puff piece review? If so, you almost fooled me. The three fives give it away as the joke it must be. And the literary genius bit. RowlIng is the macdonald's of books: bland, tasteless and liable to give you the shits.

mortal

3 years ago
it kinda feels out of place to give harry potter a 5/5/5 when they just wrote somewhere that the tree of life is only the fifth movie in the history of the mag to get the "full little white lies" treatment. and now harry potter comes in storms house. oooohkay. i see it right there, besides last year at marienbad, the great white silence and so one. no. not really. sorry.

Anton Bitel

3 years ago
My understanding is that this was written by a 15-year-old fangirl. Everyone starts somewhere, and teenagers often have different perspectives from adults (perspectives which are especially pertinent given this film's target audience - and all perspectives, surely, are valid). Well done Ellie on a well-constructed and heartfelt piece of writing!

That said, for all the reasons that there might be to see this film (or not), I don't really think that JK Rowling needs my 'crumpled tenner' as much as I do...

Adam LWLies

3 years ago
As entitled to your opinion about Rowling and the HP/films as you are, the standfirst and writer credit explain that the review was written by a 15-year-old female fan, hence the enthusiasm and 555 score. So, not a parody, but the thoughts of an impassioned teenager who has grown up in awe of the wizarding world.

Adam LWLies

3 years ago
Also, just to point out, this isn't the first time we've asked a fan to review a popular teen franchise: http://www.littlewhitelies.co.uk/theatrical-revie...

Anton Bitel

3 years ago
...and sometimes the views of older ad younger viewers are combined: http://www.littlewhitelies.co.uk/theatrical-revie...

hartigan

3 years ago
it certainly did not stay true to the book. I'm not going to be the Harry Potter police and name all the points at which it didn't but I'm 18 and I knew the difference between a rating of 3 and a rating of 5 at the age of 15. You'd think with a budget like that they'd do a better job and frankly I don't have a problem when it comes to over-paid footballers when you take into account Daniel Radcliffe and his increasingly suprising lack of skill. Overall it was enjoyable and the 'ageing' of Harry in the 19 years later was sufficiently awkward; I'm sure Albus Severus couldn't take his eyes off Harry's slightly longer side-burns.

Rachel

3 years ago
Yes, this film is a little bit of a letdown in my own personal opinion- however this comes from having fantasised in great detail exactly how I would set out this movie if I was to direct it, and that the last half of my most beloved book was not painstakingly relieved detail by detail. Of course this is my OWN opinion- this review was never going to satisfy any opinion other than those who are in complete agreement with the author, who writes with intelligence, wit and confidence and explains the reasons behind her opinion
of the review clearly and concisely... what were you expecting? If an opinion doesn't match with yours, then you brand it as incorrect? None of us are exactly world-renowned film reviewers- the author has clearly just tried to explain her views on the movie.
If you hate everything about Harry Potter, and the millions of worldwide fans this franchise has attracted, you were hopelessly kidding yourself reading a review and hoping to find exactly what you were looking for- and then making ridiculous comments about your own childhood and what your opinion would be at just 15.

fanGIRL

3 years ago
-n my honest opinion, If I had been capable of writing that review at age 12 I'd be impressed, perhaps it's a tad enthusiastic but let's not forget how exciting Harry Potter is for young people. To clarify, I thought the film was amazing hence the 555 review, I am not remedial and also understand the difference between a 3 and a 5.

hartigan

3 years ago
It's difficult to create any response without upsetting someone but I intentionally skated over my own opinion. The fact that it didn't follow the book is a fact not an opinion. Truthfully I'm not being pedantic and I don't have a problem with that in the film, obviously they don't have the time to fit everything in. Truthfully I was eager for the Harry Potter franchise to ‘pwn’ the Twilight one but I’m only being realistic. Giving Harry Potter 5 is like giving Twilight a 4. They are obviously satisfactory films when it comes to their target audience but in the context of films in general, and fan or not you have to face this truth, that with all the good actors playing the supporting roles, the money that went into it, and ultimately the fans they owe it to they had a chance at glorious sucess but opted, perhaps accidentally, for just above an acceptable mediocrity.

hartigan

3 years ago
PS. She is a good writer, I will happily agree. Also, I really like Harry Potter and merely came onto this review hoping for Matt Bochenski drawinging attention to Part 2’s lack of family and friendship values. I’m terribly sorry I was there for the wrong reason, I just felt obligated to post as I’m such an opinionated arsehole.

Anton Bitel

3 years ago
don't sweat it, Hartigan - it's probably fair to say we're all opinionated arseholes here...

Declan

3 years ago
i didn't see the standfirst (and still don't). Apologies, i didn't think it was beyond LWL to do a spoof review,and i thought i'd missed the joke. i'd still like to see a bochenski-style critique, but hey-ho.

Adam LWLies

3 years ago
No apology necessary Declan. Standfirst is viewable on the homepage and in the reviews section.

GF244

2 years ago
in a few sentences, it does it's job, but rushes the end and misses some key details. like, why did nobody see harry and voldemort's standoff that would set the wizarding world straight again? why did harry pull voldemort off a fucking tower? why did voldemort resort to kicking the crap out of harry when he could have been casting spells?
WHY DID THE FILM RUSH THROUGH?! its not like the audiences haven't sat through two and half hours of harry potter before. that extra twenty minutes would have made for amuck more satisfying sendoff, but no, they just went for the glitter and glamour of movies. that said, the statues and setting up hogwarts' defences was absolutely top notch and set the tone for an epic battle. its just a shame that the film withered away into a bit of a linear let down.
a 3.5 / 5 in my book I'm afraid...
Comments are closed.